The Belgian group La Roza Enflorese has been interpreting the Sephardic monodic repertoire since 2000. Originating in an oral tradition, these songs are open to a wide range of interpretative possibilities. Made up of five musicians with a variety of backgrounds (including classical, jazz and folk music), the ensemble presents these songs as an encounter between early, traditional and modern music, drawing both on instrumental techniques inspired by popular music and on improvisation.

Aiming to create a varied and contrasting sound-world, La Roza Enflorese brings together instruments from different places and periods (vielles, viols, lute, vihuela, oud, kanun, saz, recorders, crumhorns and percussion instruments from the Near and Middle East). While this instrumental richness contrasts with the Sephardic tradition (in which songs were performed by a female singer, accompanied at most by a frame drum), it nonetheless exemplifies the influences which have enriched this tradition since the 1492 diaspora. This approach seems particularly relevant at the time when cultural boundaries are being erased (at least through the arts) and when culture is becoming more than ever a matter of encounters.

In their last programmes and particularly in Exilio, their 5th album released in 2016, La Roza Enflorese opens to new repertoire: medieval monodic songs, Spanish Renaissance polyphonies and original compositions.

Updated 3/11/16

Depuis 2000, La Roza Enflorese interprète le répertoire monodique séfarade. Issues de la tradition orale, ces chansons offrent de nombreuses possibilités d’interprétation. Constitué de musiciens aux horizons musicaux variés, l’ensemble présente ces chants dans le cadre d’une rencontre entre musiques anciennes, musiques traditionnelles et musiques actuelles, faisant appel tant aux techniques instrumentales classiques et inspirées des musiques populaires, qu’à l’improvisation. 

Dans un souci de créer un univers sonore varié et contrasté, La Roza Enflorese associe des instruments d’origines et d’époques différentes (vièles, violes, luth, vihuela, flûtes à bec, cromornes, accordéon diatonique, oud, saz, kanun, percussions du Proche et du Moyen Orient). Si cette richesse instrumentale contraste avec la tradition séfarade dont les chants étaient chantés par une voix de femme accompagnée tout au plus par un tambourin, elle témoigne toutefois des influences qui enrichirent cette tradition depuis la diaspora de 1492. Cette démarche prend tout son sens à une époque où les frontières culturelles s’estompent et où culture s’avère plus que jamais synonyme de rencontres.

Dans leurs derniers programmes et particulièrement dans Exilio, le 5e album qui sortira au printemps 2016, la Roza Enflorese s’ouvre à de nouveaux répertoires :  chants monodiques médiévaux, polyphonies de la Renaissance espagnole et compositions originales.

Mise à jour: octobre 2015